Born in the USA

Too much time on my hands at this moment. I hope I don't do this again.
I like Bruce Springsteen.
I like the song "Born in the USA".
Song requires some thought.
It is easy to dig the heavy beat and Bruce in jeans but, consider the lyrics. (Below)
Another song I find that may be neglected is Nena's 99 Red Balloons. The direct German, literal translation is profound.
Back to work.


Video:


99 Red Balloons: Direct German translation
Do you have some time for me?
Then I’ll sing a song for you
About 99 balloons
On their way to the horizon
Are you perhaps thinking of me?
Then I’ll sing a song for you
About 99 balloons
And that something (like the war) comes from such a thing (the balloons)
99 balloons
On their way to the horizon
They thought they were UFOs from space
So a general sent
A flying squad out there
To raise the alarm if it was true
Yet there on the horizon were
Only 99 balloons
99 jet airplanes
Each one was a great warrior
Thought that they were Captain Kirk
There were great fireworks
The neighbors didn’t understand anything
And felt immediately felt “pissed off”/provoked
Yet there they shot on the horizon
At 99 balloons
99 war ministers
Matches and petrol cans
Thought that they were clever people
Already caught wind of great spoils [of war]
Shouted: War, and wanted power
Man, who would have thought
That one day it would come to this
Because of 99 balloons
99 years of war
Don’t leave a place for victors
There are no ministers of war any more
No jet planes either
Today I’m doing my rounds
Seeing the world lying in ruins
Found a balloon
Think of you and let it fly
Born in the USA:

Born down in a dead mans town
The first kick I took was when I hit the ground
You end up like a dog thats been beat too much
Till you spend half your life just covering up
Born in the u.s.a., I was born in the u.s.a.
I was born in the u.s.a., born in the u.s.a.
Got in a little hometown jam
So they put a rifle in my hand
Sent me off to a foreign land
To go and kill the yellow man
Born in the u.s..a….
Come back home to the refinery
Hiring man said son if it was up to me
Went down to see my v.a. man
He said son, dont you understand
I had a brother at khe sahn
Fighting off the viet cong
Theyre still there, hes all gone
He had a woman he loved in saigon
I got a picture of him in her arms now
Down in the shadow of the penitentiary
Out by the gas fires of the refinery
Im ten years burning down the road
Nowhere to run aint got nowhere to go

Published by

Nate Howard Photography

Nate Howard has traveled the world as a photojournalist. The photographs he sent to us were from, Russia, Mexico, Iraq, and Kosovo. Photography taken all around the world does not always have a lot of similarities, but what we were most impressed by was Mr. Howard’s ability to capture quiet human moments that made us feel like we knew the people photographed.

Leave a Reply

